Grand Prix Series

Yankowskas, Coughlin headed to NHK Trophy

Caitlin Yankowskas and John Coughlin have been selected to compete at the opening Grand Prix event of the season, NHK Trophy, as replacements for 2010 U.S. Championship bronze medalists Rena Inoue and John Baldwin, U.S. Figure Skating announced today. U.S. Champions Caydee Denney and Jeremy Barrett will also compete at the Oct. 22-24 competition in Nagoya, Japan.

Yankowskas and Coughlin are also slated to compete November 5-7 at the Cup of China in Beijing, China, which was the only Grand Prix event they received when assignments were initially made by the International Skating Union in June. National silver medalists Amanda Evora and Mark Ladwig will also represent the United States in Beijing.

In 2008, Yankowskas and Coughlin made their Grand Prix debut with a sixth place finish at Skate America. The pair also placed seventh at 2009 Skate Canada and ended last season with a fourth place showing at the Four Continents Championship.

The team made their competitive debut by winning the 2007 Midwestern Sectional Championship, qualifying for the U.S. Championships, where they placed sixth. The team was seventh at the 2009 nationals and sixth again in 2006.


Photo courtesy of Leah Adams

Figure Skaters Online strives to be an accurate source of information related to the sport of figure skating. To report an error, please e-mail the news editor. Include the article date and title in your e-mail.