Junior WorldsNewsWorlds

Evan Lysacek, Ashley Wagner withdraw from events

Release courtesy of U.S. Figure Skating

U.S. Figure Skating announced today that 2010 Olympic champion Evan Lysacek and 2006 Olympic silver medalists Tanith Belbin and Ben Agosto will not compete at the 2010 World Figure Skating Championships in Torino, Italy. Ashley Wagner has announced she has withdrawn from the 2010 World Junior Figure Skating Championships in The Hague, Netherlands.

Lysacek will be replaced by 2009 Cancer.Net Skate America silver medalist Ryan Bradley, while Belbin and Agosto’s spot will be filled by two-time U.S. bronze medalists Kim Navarro and Brent Bommentre. Wagner will be replaced by 2009 U.S. novice champion Kiri Baga.

“After much consideration following the conclusion of our event in Vancouver, Ben and I have decided to end our season with these Olympic Games,” Belbin said.

Lysacek said that although his 2009-10 competitive season will also end with the Olympic Winter Games, he will continue to compete.

“I’m not afraid to lose,” Lysacek said. “Regardless of medals, I still have so much to thrive on in the sport. I’m not ready to say good-bye.”

Belbin and Agosto plan to continue skating as well but have not decided if they will do so competitively or just in shows. “We’re going to take some time while on tour with ‘Stars on Ice’ this spring to consider our competitive plans for the future,” Belbin said.


U.S. Figure Skating is the national governing body for the sport of figure skating in the United States as recognized by the United States Olympic Committee and the International Skating Union. U.S. Figure Skating is comprised of more than 763 member clubs and Basic Skills Programs representing approximately 179,000 members. U.S. Figure Skating is charged with the development of the sport on all levels within the United States including athletes, officials, sanctioning of events and exhibitions, and establishing the rules and guidelines by which the sport is governed.